PPD – Tracey Emin Studio

PPD – Tracey Emin Studio

 IMG_8841

After leaving school, I was fortunate enough to be in a position where I met Tracey, and I asked her for any type of work experience. She was reluctant as normally doesn’t like people she doesn’t know in the studio. She agreed and gave me a weeks work experience.

That was back in 2009. Ive now been working for her for five years. Full time during holidays and part time during college.

What do I do for TE Studio?

 -Archive

-Limited Editions

-Emin International

-Fabricate

-Press

-Inventory

-General assistant

The list on the screen is just a rough proportional idea of what I do with Tracey. It ranges from running to the royal academy with her submission painting archiving the art work.

Emin International

Screen Shot 2014-06-01 at 14.52.10

 Tracey set up a company back in 2006 called “`Emin international”. This showcases her editions and merchandise. A big part of my work with her is to do with this.

What do I do for Emin International?

  • I help choose with Tracey and the studio what drawings we want to make editions
  • We choose paper type, colour, plate mark or no plate mark? Plate size, paper size etc.
  • Run the limited editions with my colleague Joe
  • Take orders
  • Assign editions
  • Amend the data base
  • Help make Emin International products
  • Press
  • Sell

My colleague (joe) and I are in charge of the limited editions. This involves the decision, with Tracey of course, as to what the next print should be. We go through the draws of her drawing and collectively decide on what is best as a new edition.

The Shop

I also work every weekend as a sales assistant in Tracey’s shop, since 2011.

Screen Shot 2014-06-01 at 14.54.40

Screen Shot 2014-06-01 at 14.58.10

In the shop we sell limited editions and house hold accessories rendered in Tracey’s signature style.

I also help make things with Tracey in the studio to sell in the shop. For example in the background of this picture you can see the posters. These I helped make in the studio, and were originally images used in the shop Tracey and Sarah Lucas owned. We bought them back to life you could say.

Leave a Reply

